Recipe Update #3

I think if I stay consistent in doing a recipe update a month, including 3-5 recipes I should make my goal, right? Here’s what I’ve been cooking…

Remember my original goal of working my way through the CIA cookbook The Professional Chef? Well, I ended up modifying it mainly because there is just a lot of steps to every recipe and realistically, making 52 recipes straight from that book was going to be too much of a challenge. So, I decided on 26 from that cookbook and another 26 from whatever resource I find. This update, you’ll get two recipes from that particular cookbook–lucky you!

Greek Salad-our family plus two others from our small group got together for dinner and to hang out on a Friday evening. We had been assigned to bring a salad, which I usually just throw together with whatever I have on hand. BUT, I knew enough ahead of time and had already planned to head to the grocery store so we decided to get a little fancy. This recipe is from page 910 from the CIA Cookbookfrom and the end result was a restaurant style Greek salad (one of my personal favorites!).

IMG_6971

Lemon-Parsley Vinaigrette-the recommended accompaniment to the Greek salad listed above, this recipe comes from page 896 of the CIA Cookbook. I loved the simplicity of being able to throw this vinaigrette together with just minutes to go before heading out the door. I ended up using my immersion blender to really bring this together and the result was a tangy, salty, herby sauce to compliment the fresh salad.

IMG_3360

Scalloped Potatoes-I have on my list to make Baked Beans, which I’ve really been meaning to make for about three weeks now. Well, when push came to shove, I forgot to purchase bacon at the store and I just couldn’t stomach the idea of trying to make the recipe without bacon. So, we needed a starchy side earlier this week and I took to the internet to see what I could make work with what we have on hand. Thankfully, we had everything needed and ended up with a delicious side with our kielbasa sausage and sautéed spinach. You can find the recipe I used here.

IMG_3860

 

Leave a Reply

