Books of 2016-Part 1

Guys, Eva woke up at 6:22a today and I pretty much feel like a new woman. Oh, and also I went to bed at 9:30, so that helped too. What I was not expecting was to change a poopy diaper first thing after our normal morning greeting. I wish kids had a convenience factor for when they decide to do things like poop or barf, but then they’d probably never take care of those physical demands and make themselves sick because, let’s face it, its never really convenient.

Ok, enough about that.

I’ve been able to read 11 books so far this year (my goal is 30!). AND, I have several that are literally in my queue or sitting on my nightstand just waiting for me to dig into them. Yeah, I’m a trailblazer, although none of them have been very hard, which probably helps.  I will say though, it seems like the stars have perfectly aligned themselves to allow this to happen. I’m not normally this fast and I’m kind of expecting a burnout soon…but hopefully not because there is so much I want to read!

So, here they are with a brief review.

  1.  The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton, finished 1.17.16, 5 out of 5. I rarely give out 5/5, so I really enjoyed this one: a gripping story with engaging characters and beautiful descriptions.
  2. The Choice by Nicholas Sparks, finished 1.21.16, 2 out of 5. Ehh, I had put this on hold at the library, 6 weeks later when it came in, I had forgotten about it-I still read it as I knew it would be quick and easy, but not worth your time unless you’re a huge Nicholas Sparks fan.
  3. Pagan Christianity by George Barna & Frank Viola, finished 1.21.16, 4 out of 5. Discernment is crucial as you think about some of the traditional Christian rituals and their pagan roots.
  4. After You by Jojo Moyes, finished 1.26.16, 3 out of 5. HIghly anticipated sequel to Me Before You which I read last year…I thoroughly enjoyed this one actually more than Me Before You (gasp!). If I could give it another half star, I would.
  5. Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri, finished 1.30.16, 4 out of 5. If you enjoy essays/short stories with morals, this is a great title. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
  6. 7 by Jen Hatmaker, finished 2.1.16, 3 out of 5. I gave an overview and my take in my Lent blogpost.
  7. You Are a Badass: How to Stop Doubting Your Greatness and Start Living an Awesome Life by Jen Sincero, finished 2.1.16, 2 out of 5. I know this book is super trendy, but I couldn’t get into it-the self-help and condescension of the author’s writing was too much for me.
  8. Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting By in America by Barbara Ehrenerich, finished 2.7.16, 3 out of 5. Super interesting read on “getting by in America” with a minimum wage job-total anthropological/sociological nerd book that I found fascinating.
  9. Same Kind of Different as Me, by Ron Hall & Denver Moore, finished 2.17.16, 3 out of 5. Recommended by a friend, I didn’t love this, but it was a fascinating read on the history of Fort Worth and the Union Gospel Mission organization as well as the impact volunteering can have on many people.
  10. Treasuring Christ when Your Hands are Full by Gloria Furman, finished 2.21.16, 3 out of 5. Another book recommended by a friend that I enjoyed mainly because of the subject-keeping Christ and the Gospel at the center of my mothering during a busy time.
  11. Where Did you Go Bernadette? by Maria Semple, finished 2.21.16, 4 out of 5. Very quick, engaging read that was laugh out loud hilarious and now visiting Antarctica is on my bucket list!

 

Leave a Reply

