Recipe Update

At first I thought I was completely in good shape for keeping up with my new recipes fro 2016…and then I realized how long it has been since I’ve given an recipe update and how few recipes I’ve actually made. I may need to play catch up and maybe even work ahead a little!

To make matters worse…this isn’t a very exciting update as it seems I’ve not taken pictures of all the new creations we’ve had in the house. Forgive me, I’m learning and (as you can see from my “Week in Photos” posts) photography is just not my strongest habit right now.

Chef John’s Stuffed Peppers from AllRecipes. I honestly cannot remember a time that I’ve made stuffed peppers. Matt claims I have and his memory is sometimes better than mine when it comes to food. BUT, I could find no record of another stuffed pepper recipe, so it’s being added. We LOVED this recipe, and it made a ton of leftovers which are always a win. This is a recipe that does take some time/prep/planning, but it was totally worth it.

IMG_6958

Southwestern Chicken Chili from New Leaf Wellness (recipe is on p. 9 of the linked document). This was on my list of freezer meals to make in preparation for the arrival of baby #2. I made the freezer meal without actually trying the recipe first (gasp!), but quickly realized I had enough ingredients on hand to make it for us as well. It was a total hit with both Eva and Matt. I can see me whipping up some cornbread and this meal being added to our normal rotation.

Gosh, pork chops are so boring for me sometimes, but when you hit a sale its hard to not stock up. Anyways, we had a bunch of pork chops on hand and I was looking for a way to spice things up. I ended up going with this slightly deceiving recipe titled Baked Pork Chops from AllRecipes. It’s a deceiving title because you first dredge and then shallow fry the pork chops before baking, so a bit intense. BUT, it had over 4,000 reviews and 4.5/5 stars, so we tried it. The end result was schnitzel-ish and I made the sauce topping on my own since I don’t keep cream of mushroom soup on hand…I’d say we’ll probably try this one again, but probably not for awhile because of how long it took.

IMG_6963

Another soup recipe…don’t worry, it’s starting to be warm here, so I doubt I’ll be trying many more new soup recipes…I got this recipe from a friend who found it here and did end up heavily modifying it. Does that still count? As you can tell from the consistency and if you read the original recipe, I did not puree the avocado with the broth, I ended up cutting it into chunks. My friend also suggested serving it over cilantro lime rice, which explains the presence of rice in the picture. This is a recipe I’d probably make again, although probably just for Eva and I. She and I both enjoyed it and it came together really quickly, but I think Matt would be soup overwhelmed so I’d rather make it again if only for our lunches.

IMG_3448

Leave a Reply

