Latest Recipe Update

Ok, so this is one area of my 2016 Goals that I’m already “behind” in; I’m honestly not trying to get too down on myself about it because…you know, the whole being in the third trimester and having a toddler bit.

Anyways, while I haven’t made recipes from the cookbook I had intended to, I may try to make this goal a little more broad and just say “1-2 new recipes per week”; that will give me a little more flexibility and not make me feel so confined to the parameters of a single cookbook. What if I shoot for about half of the recipes coming from it, is that fair? Oh, and did I even mention which cookbook I’m trying to work from? I see now that I only mentioned it by name, but here’s a link to The Professional Chef if you’d like to know more.

Since we’re now to the 21st though, you should at least have three new recipes…so,  here are the recipes I have managed to try to far in 2016…

Sweet Potato, Kale, and Sausage Bake with White Cheese Sauce from the Pinch of Yum website. Mine looks a little different, because of our diet modifications, I had to work with a couple substitutions for the cheese sauce.

IMG_6863

Gluten-Free Fudge Cake from A Girl De-Floured. I made this on the first “cheat day” of the year and then made it again for our small group last weekend. I had previously given up on finding a decent from scratch gluten-free cake recipe-all of mine seemed to sink or have a weird texture-so I stopped making them for a couple years. Then suddenly inspired and feeling brave, made this recipe and was completely impressed. Best part: it was still delicious on Day 2 and 3!

image5

On a separate “cheat day” occasion (it should be no surprise) while we were craving something sweet, Matt had the brilliant idea to make a cheesecake. So, here we are, looking at our cupboards, trying to work out what we might concoct knowing that we don’t have the time a real cheesecake needs or all the ingredients to replicate the one I made for Christmas. So, we improvise. We used this No-Bake Chocolate Cheesecake Pie recipe and followed it except for the crust. I had a gluten-free frozen pie crust on hand, so we ended up using that instead. The results were delicious mix between a chocolate cheesecake and chocolate cream pie.

IMG_6886

Leave a Reply

