Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

I guess it was now last weekend that slow-cooker chicken tortilla soup sounded absolutely fantastic to my taste buds. It’s finally been getting cooler in north Texas and I’ve been seriously craving fall weather and the start of soup season.

Perhaps in an effort to urge the weather to continue in its cooler pattern, I decided to try a new recipe. As we were enjoying the fruits of my dumping several items in the slow cooker labor, Matt and I decided I’ve never actually made chicken tortilla soup before! I’ve probably always left that to the professionals; but, now that I’ve got a go to recipe, I think we’ll be adding another delicious soup to our winter menu. Served with cornbread, butter and honey, it was a winner! Bonus points: the baby loved it too!

Once I settled on making the soup, I needed to find a recipe. Hey there, Google, my search engine BFF. I found a super easy slow-cooker recipe that was highly rated on AllRecipes, unfortunately this was after I had already gone to the grocery store, so I’ll share my modifications.

image1 (2)

 

Here is the original recipe (or you can find it with reviews and other user’s comments here):

Ingredients:

Method

  1. Place chicken, tomatoes, enchilada sauce, onion, green chiles, and garlic into a slow cooker. Pour in water and chicken broth, and season with cumin, chili powder, salt, pepper, and bay leaf. Stir in corn and cilantro. Cover, and cook on Low setting for 6 to 8 hours or on High setting for 3 to 4 hours.
  2. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C).
  3. Lightly brush both sides of tortillas with oil. Cut tortillas into strips, then spread on a baking sheet.
  4. Bake in preheated oven until crisp, about 10 to 15 minutes. To serve, sprinkle tortilla strips over soup.

Modifications

  • Um, who has time to cook chicken before putting it in the slow cooker?! I straight up put two frozen boneless skinless chicken thighs in the slow cooker, removed them after about 3 hours to shred them with two forks and then added them back into the soup.
  • We didn’t have a jar of enchilada sauce, so I added tomato paste and then doubled the amounts for the cumin and chili powder.
  • I didn’t have any pre-made chicken broth on hand, so I ended up adding three cups of water and chicken bouillon cubes. I know that doesn’t directly equal the amount of liquid the recipe suggests, but we prefer a thicker soup anyway.
  • I don’t keep bay leaves in the spice cabinet…so, we went without…not sure it would have made that much difference.
  • Lastly, just use tortilla chips, ok? You can get all fancy and make tortilla strips if you want, but this is a slow-cooker recipe, so one would assume you don’t have time to actually make tortilla strips.
  • Other toppings we added: cheese, greek yogurt (or sour cream), and avocado
  • Final thoughts: next time we decided we will add some beans to the slow cooker and try to have some jalepeno available for topping as well.

 

Leave a Reply

