Be My Valentine

I bet you’re wondering what kind of fancy things we made for valentine’s dinner.

Actually, maybe you’re not because after all, that was practically a month ago!

Let’s rewind to last Valentine’s, shall we? We were staying in a hotel in Racine because Matt was working on a two-week project and I wasn’t working. We ended up both forgetting about Valentine’s day until the day of, and went to one of Racine’s premier restaurants that ended up having terrible service. Now, I realize I’m painting a rather morose picture, but I assure you that it wasn’t morose, it was wonderful and simple and relaxing.

Now we’re to the present. This year it is my “year” to plan everything. (Everything really only means Valentines day and anniversary). We take turns planning dates and celebrations because we didn’t want either one of us to get burnt out on it. Anyways, I wanted to make some new recipes, try out some things I’ve never done before. So, we did. And thankfully Matt was on board.

I made a menu, made a homemade card, and went grocery shopping. Our menu included Rib-eye steak with a chive cream sauce, polenta with caramelized mushrooms and Brussels sprouts with almonds, cranberries and blue cheese. Wow, it was really fun, but really crazy in our kitchen!

In the next couple days I will post my recipes for each of them–consider this the first in the Valentine’s Day Series…IMG_1512

#3 4: Steak with Roquefort Chive Sauce

This recipe is from Ina Garten—lets just get it out of the way and say that I love her. I enjoy that she is calm, collected, she isn’t showy, and her food isn’t either. It is simple, elegant, and she clearly loves to cook and serve her husband. Honestly, I feel like she could mentor me.

Ok. Anyways…

Matt is usually our protein cooker-I’m nervous about it a lot because it is hard to get right. In some cooking shows I’ve watched the chef say that they can “feel” if a cut of meat is cooked and to what degree. Me? I’m usually looking at the timer and wishing it to come out how I want. Anyways, this was the part I was most worried about because honestly, this was the part that I knew Matt would want to have done well. The other two sides might not excite him, but having a beautiful cut of rib-eye, that would bring a smile to his face.

So, here are her instructions. I had to make some modifications—seeing as with the stores I went to, no Roquefort cheese was to be found. For that, I ended up using blue cheese, because they have very similar consistencies and tastes.

You can find the recipe here.

Steakhouse Steaks

Steak-take your pick on the cut—she suggests filet mignon

2 T. vegetable oil

1 T. fleur de sel

1 T. coarsely cracked black peppercorns

2 T. unsalted butter

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Heat a large, well-seasoned cast iron skillet over high heat until very hot, 5 to 7 minutes. (This is where the house got kind of smoky and we had to open the doors/turn on the fan because things got crazy!). Pat the steaks dry and with a paper towel, brush lightly with vegetable oil. Combine fleur de sel on a plate and roll the steaks in the mixture to coat all sides. When the skillet is ready, add steaks and sear evenly on all sides. Top each steak with a tablespoon of butter and place skillet in the oven. Cook steaks until they reach 120 degrees F. Remove to serving platter, cover, and let rest for 10 minutes before serving.

Roquefort Chive Sauce

IMG_1507

1 ½ c. heavy cream

2 oz. Roquefort cheese

½ t. salt

¼ t. pepper

1 T. chopped fresh chives

Bring the heavy cream to a boil in a small heavy-bottomed saucepan over medium-high heat. Cook at low boil, stirring occasionally, until the mixture has become thick and cream. Remove the pan and add the cheese, salt, pepper, and chives and whisk rapidly until the cheese melts. Serve on prepared steaks.

Leave a Reply

