Matt’s Andouille Cheese Grits

Out of the blue, I had a craving for some good ol’ fashion Cajun food. I am not sure why or what even led to these cravings. Was it because Rachel mentioned making something Cajun and that got my mind going or because I was missing my southern roots? Whatever the case may be I knew exactly what I wanted to make as soon as I decided to make some Cajun food, classic cheesy grits with sausage.

To make it truly in a Cajun tradition it would have been best served with Andouille sausage but since we are trying to save a little bit of money and use ingredients that can go across multiple platforms of food (and with a recent visit to Costco), we used a kielbasa sausage link (made in San Antonio, Texas). It worked for what we wanted, but the Andouille would have been better with a richer and deeper taste. To make this even better and if you are not allergic to shrimp, throw some in for added taste and deeper flavors. Here is the recipe we used that actually worked quite nice.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 pound Andouille Sausage, chopped
  • 4 1/2 cups milk
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 2 cups quick yellow grits
  • 1 cup grated cheddar (4 ounces)

Brown the Andouille in a saucepan, over medium-high heat, cooking it for about 4 minutes. Add the milk, salt, cayenne, and butter and bring to a boil. Add the grits and reduce the heat to medium. Stir for 30 seconds, then add the cheese and stir until the cheese melts. Cook, uncovered, for 4 to 5 minutes, or until the grits are tender and creamy.

(The original recipe can be found here from Emerils.com)

The recipe is actually very simple and quite easy to make. It takes hardly any time at all as well, so it is a quick and easy dish. It actually serves 4 people, so we cut it in half. I think we were both really impressed with the flavors we were able to get out and how much we both liked it. It was very creamy and the cheese and sausage worked well together. It worked perfect as a nice side item. We ended up making some blackened fish to go along with it and even worked if a piece of fish got into the grits.

I am sure my parents never thought I would be eating grits after the number of times they tried to serve them growing up and I wouldn’t touch them, but just another way my taste have changed over the years. If I knew they could be this delicious, I would have been eating them a long time ago.

Rachel: also, after having had these cheese and sausage grits, I have been in a cheese grits mode. I’ve been making garlic cheese grits for breakfasts–I love it because it is of course gluten free, but also fills me up for a long time. So glad and thankful Matt had that craving, I see this recipe and grits becoming more of an option for our side dishes.

Enjoy!

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. These must be the cheese grits you were talking about, omg they look fantastic.

Leave a Reply

