april 19th

rachel: for some reason i was thinking about a lot of “what if” situations today…i’m not sure if it is stress, or the feeling that something is about to happen. but, it was on my mind a lot. if i think about that for too long, i get anxious, which isn’t a good thing. but, i kept being reminded of God’s goodness no matter what. He is always in control, always faithful, always providing for us in ways we don’t always see, always near. what joy and what hope that brings. i’ve taken a picture of a book that God has really used recently to transform my view of Him; some new concepts about who God is have come up, as well as gentle reminders of who God is and who God is not…such beautiful things that replace hope with anxiety. it has been such a joy to read this book with matt and learn more together about who God is!

matt: Somehow this verse has come up the past few days, 2 Corinthians 12:9 (also including verse 10 for this note), “9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” the past few days i have been thinking a lot about the theology of some wording and strangely enough, some things from “knowledge of the holy“. but today it hit me to focus on the weakness of boasting in it, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. i was reminded about how much i needed a Savior because of my many weaknesses and that surrendering to God gave me victory. the only way to victory. for when i submit, surrender and admit my need, see my need for the cross, i am strengthened to know there is something more powerful. also, i know that i am loved. i had to hit the surrender button and admit i am weak, and God’s power then rested on me.

us: you know what’s funny? taking so many pictures of ourselves…we’re becoming professionals at the one-handed camera holding and setting the timers! matching (comfy) shirts today!

Leave a Reply

