april 11

rachel: today i’ve taken a picture of a birthday gift that matt gave me. a kindle! i was so excited about it when it came and had NO idea he had that in store for me. it has been so nice to have it by the bed and for tired mornings, which with being sick, i’ve had a lot of recently, so it has gotten quite a bit of use the past few days! i love to read, from being able to have the Bible, or a book from a list i’m going through, it is a wonderful treat to have it all right there…and what a perfect way to pass time not in front of the tv! thank you matt for the sweet gift that we get to share in!

matt: Water…Needed for our bodies. Needed for so many things in this world. Today, it symbolizes that this and whatever this world offers will never satisfy. It will leave us empty. We will keep grasping for more. Our bodies will break down if we don’t have it. We cannot go without water for 3 days. Jesus says that man shall not life on bread alone but on every word out of the mount of God. He spoke this passage from Psalms during his time in the wilderness. As He could have turned stones into bread, he resisted the devil’s temptation and depended on God. As today was a big day for us, the only thing I had was water. I wanted to be reminded that the only thing that will satisfy me is the Lord. The only thing that will last is the water of life that only God can give. As long as I am in this world, this body will keep needing things, food, air, water, but there is a day when I will need no more. When all that I long for will be fulfilled. This water failed me, but the water God offered me never has and never will fail me.

13 Jesus answered, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, 14 but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” (John 4:13-14, NIV)

us: we got to the end of the night (which ended up being really big/busy for us!), and realized we hadn’t taken a photo. here we are brushing our teeth before sleep! keeping those teeth nice and white!

Leave a Reply

