april 4

we apologize for our tardiness!

rachel: my day was all about hanging out with one of my best friends. she came out into the suburbs (she’s a city girl), to hang out for the day. we got to go our for some lunch, check out the outlet mall near our apartment (which we had yet to go to!), and watch a movie (that ended up being awful). it was a wonderful day to catch up with her and to have some wonderful company during my otherwise fairly lonely days. (also, i’m now regretting that we didn’t take a picture while we were together).  my photo is from our lunch at chili’s…sliders…also one of my favorite things at chilis. after matt got home, we made some dinner and i carefully packed my leftovers/half of the meal into a container…it was his lunch today…sometimes you just have to share in the joy of chilis sliders!

matt: There was a common theme for this day…tiredness. It seemed that no matter what I did or what was going on, for the greater part of the day, I was empty. I had nothing left. No amount of coffee or food or experience was helping or going to help. I was reminded of one thing, I can’t…but God can. I had to look to God, depend on Him for energy to get me through. And He did just that. As much as I didn’t want to cook and as long as the day was, He blessed me with energy. He also blessed me with an encouraging and supportive wife whom I love to pick me up. My picture says to me:

Empty

28-30“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” (Matthew 11:28-30, MSG)

us: this is us playing around with our new camera. we just recently bought a smaller camera to be able to sneak into my purse; it seems like it is a fantastic purchase (and we got it at a great price too) to use instead of taking our big camera with us everywhere! also, us trying out a magic hat spring sampler pack with +/- beer…not too shabby!

Leave a Reply

