day 17, 18, 19

rachel day 17, 18, 19

i know we said we would try to do one song per day, but honestly i’ve only been thinking about one song. despite the fact that most days i have the radio on all day, during commercial breaks i’ve just been going back to this song:  “remind me who i am” by jason gray.

i keep coming back to the part in his song:  tell me, lest i forget // who i am to You,  that i belong to You

when i am so reminded of my sin, i often forget that i still belong to Jesus. He has promised never to leave or forsake me, to be my Refuge, Strength, Power, and Savior. it is always healthy to receive conviction from the Holy Spirit, to be reminded that sin separates us from God and that we are in desperate need of redemption and Jesus. when this happens though,  i feel so disappointed. disappointed in myself and guilty for my actions or thoughts and disappointed that i am ultimately a sinner separated from God. however, i need the reminder of this song, He lifts me up, He frees me from guilt,  He rescues me from my wandering and sinful heart, and i am reminded that i belong to Him.

listen to this song, it is so good. such a beautiful reminder that we are His!

Matt Day 17

My song for today is “How great is our God” by Chris Tomlin. It was just one of those days where Rachel and I were resting and being boring. We decided to go out and do some shopping and fill our time until the Super Bowl. As we were out, I don’t recall the radio being on but this song kept going through my head. It is a song that goes through my head a lot, especially when I don’t miss the things God is showing me. Maybe it is the beauty of the sunset or the geese flying along or a beautiful 50 degree day in February with the feelings of home, whatever it is or was, when those times come, this song comes to mind.

It’s simply a song that proclaims the greatness of God. God shows us His greatness every day and this is my response. It shows His greatness and power in that “darkness… trembles at His voice”. How great is that, He is victory and in the darkness of our world, He is our light and lights up our own small world. I love how this song sings of the various attributes of God: The Trinity, the Lion and the Lamb, Name above all names, worthy of all praise, beginning and the end. The main part of this song that went through my head and goes through my head is “How great is our God, sing with me//How great is our God, and all will see//How great, how great is our God”. When I see the beautiful sunset or amazing snowflakes, I am reminded of His greatness.

Matt Day 18

I must admit, yesterday was a tough day. A lot went through my head as the day progressed. During the day, I was asked to do go to Racine, Wisconsin to deliver a part using a big work truck. It wasn’t a hard task except for driving a vehicle that is slow, bulky and not easy to maneuver. The one good thing is that it gave me 3 hours of alone time and time to get lost in my thoughts and listen to some Christian music. Because the radio wasn’t the best, I used my phone to listen to some Bethel Church.

As I was driving along and dealing with different feelings and pains, God kept reminding me of the key element of trust. Trust isn’t the easiest thing as I have mentioned before and I don’t do a great job at it by any means. Yesterday felt a lot like a storm. I could see the storm clouds coming, the wind picked up, the sky began to turn dark and there I was stuck in the middle of the ocean. God made it clear that I just need to trust Him and let Him be God. He showed me that He will work out all things for good if I will just follow. It is easy to say isn’t it? That things will all turn out for the best. Society will dismiss it as positive thinking. This is where trust comes in. I can’t just say the right words, I must believe and walk in the power of the Gospel. Again, we are not promised an easy life, there will be pain and plenty of it. I can’t just quote Romans 8:28, I must believe it and believe that God will truly make all things work together for my good.

All of this came together as I listened and was reminded of this song, it is called “Healer” performed by Bethel Church. There isn’t much to the lyrics, but they are powerful words in the midst of trying times. This song sings of God being in control, every moment in His hands, calming the raging sea, walking with us through the fire and healing us of all our disease. It leads us to trust, it leads us to call upon God in these times and reminds me who God is, my Healer, all that I need, my portion, more than enough. It finishes off by singing what we often forget or don’t think is true anymore. Miracles happen all around me every day yet living in this country during this time, it is easy for me to dismiss these things as something they are not. The healings, the saving of lives, the avoidance of something more serious, the protection and the provisions are all ways miracles happen around me each day, yet I take for granted. The song calls for me to remember “Nothing is impossible for You//You hold my world in Your hands”. Jesus is my Healer, he holds my life and while the world takes my hope away, I can stand firm in the truth of God’s Word. He is listening, He is here, He is with me and all things are possible. Those are not just words, they are truths. When we pray, God listens. When we seek God wholeheartedly, we will find Him. The storms subside, maybe not immediately, maybe not for a while, but what a glorious hope we have.

Matt Day 19

My song for today is “You never let go” by Matt Redman. Other than having a fantastic first name, this is a great song about God’s faithfulness, especially during trying times. It is a song that sings of God’s faithfulness. We don’t always know why the storm comes or what it is for, but we know that God is with us. One of the things I enjoy about this song is that it is a way to speak against evil. In the hardest of times and the worst of storms, this song goes through my head. I love how every line is hope. It is a song that leads me to God when there are times of grief and pain. Look at how it speaks against evil:

And I will fear no evil//For my God is with me//And if my God is with me//Whom then shall I fear?//Whom then shall I fear?

(Chorus:)Oh no, You never let go//Through the calm and through the storm//Oh no, You never let go//In every high and every low//Oh no, You never let go//Lord, You never let go of me//

Isn’t that fantastic. We have nothing to fear because God is with us. He is faithful and keeps His promises, He is really there with us. Sometimes, I search for Him in ways that my mind can comprehend and I feel lonely but when I stop trying to confine Him, and I am open to His marvelous ways, He shows Himself to me in some way, shape, form or fashion. It is our stance against evil. Evil will tell us to run and cower and fear and hide, but when God is for us, we have nothing to fear. No lie, nothing can harm us. He will never let go, He is always there. In the hospital room, in the morgue, in the delivery room, in the pain and in the joy, He is there. He is holding us, whether we know it or not.

Yes, I can see a light that is coming for the heart that holds on//And there will be an end to these troubles//But until that day comes//Still I will praise You, still I will praise You(Chorus 2x’s)

The last part of the song sings of hope. It sings of finishing the race and holding on even among all the grief, doubt and pain. It sings of a day when the troubles will end. It sings of praising God. Just praising God.

Leave a Reply

