day 9, 10, 11

rachel day 9

our day 9 was on saturday, and all day i kept repeating the chorus of the song “where i belong” by building 429. i love the lyrics; they are so simple, and such a reminder that this earth is not my home.

all i know is i’m not home yet // this is not where i belong // take this world and give me Jesus // this is not where i belong

i just finished the book (for the first time) “inside out” by larry crabb. there are several main concepts to this book, but probably the most significant one that i have taken away is that in all the hurt, pain, and disappointment in this world give us a hope for heaven. the wonderful hope that we will someday be in a perfect heaven with no pain, no suffering, no disappointment. we will be made perfect by the King and we do not have to live in this fallen world. i can’t wait for that.

rachel day 10

usually when i get songs stuck in my head, it is one or two phrases, not the whole song, or not even the whole chorus. well, this is one of those days. i kept thinking about the background to the chorus of “courageous” by casting crowns. it isn’t even a critical part to the song, just something i kept thinking about.

seek justice

love mercy

walk humbly with your God

what does it mean or look like in my daily life to do those things. if anyone knows, direct me because i keep thinking about that and i’m coming up short. good things to ponder, it always directs me to prayer and to the Lord for more understanding.

rachel day 11

aaron shust-my hope is in you

again, my thing with only remembering/praying/knowing part of a song. i love the end of the chorus of this song:

a peace that passes understanding is my song // and i sing, my hope is in You alone.

on day 9, i was thinking a lot about how our hope is in heaven, in the Lord. that we can look forward to heaven and the peace and healing that will be there. that theme is and has been with me for probably the past week, and i can tell it is reflected in the songs i’m focusing on. i just love that and am so thankful for being able to focus on those songs. it reminds me of paul’s words in 1 corinthians 4 and 5. such good words; here is 4:17-18 “for our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. so we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. for what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” i keep praying for eyes that are focused on what is unseen.

Matt day 9

My song for this day is “Our God” by Chris Tomlin. We heard this song as we were at Saturday night church and before that time, i really hadn’t heard much music that day. The moment I heard this song, my attention was immediately peaked.

I love how this music slowly picks up and we get to sing about the power of God. not only that but then i get reminded that out of the ashes of death we truly did arise. out of the darkness, out of the pain, out of the dirtiness of sin, God lifted us up.

Then it is my opportunity to tell God with all my heart that i believe no one is like Him, that He is greater and stronger than any other. Then the line that is easy to gloss over except when you are not feeling well, “our God is healer”. the thing is I need God to heal me and continually heal me each day. by that i mean to guide me through the healing process of my mind or my weaknesses to strengthen my defenses. It also gives me hope that one day, i will truly be healed when i am with my Father in heaven. no more pain or shame or sin that cripples me.

Then my favorite part of the song that comes from Scripture is, “And if our God is for us, then who could ever stop us. And if our God is with us, then what could stand against.” I love this because no matter what we face, God will be there for us. He is on our side fighting for us. nothing can beat or overcome my God. nothing can stand in the way to thwart His plans. with Him nothing can stop us and truly the impossible is possible.


Matt day 10

So i must admit that i never heard this song until Sunday morning when we were trying a new church. we were pleasantly surprised by having a couple of Texas boys lead worship in Shane & Shane. I have heard them sing some more well known songs before but i have never heard them in concert. rachel really likes them so i knew they had to be good, but i was blown away by seeing them live.

They sang a song called “Before the throne”. as they played the song and as the music resounded in my heart, i immediately started writing down the lyrics. the lyrics are so powerful talking about our own sin and guilt. it almost goes through the journey of our time before God. it shows what Jesus did for us. it shows how satan tempts us and lays the guilt on, yet there is freedom in Jesus. we have a defender who pleads our case. the song has a climax by saying “Praise the One Risen Son of God”. this is a song that reminds me no matter how much guilt satan puts on me, no matter how bad i am or bad i feel, i am free. my guilt is gone and my slate wiped clean. Oh praise the One who set me free. this is the lyrics that stuck out to me, “When satan tempts me to despair and tells me of the guilt within upward I look and see Him there Who made an end of all my sin.”

Matt day 11

My song for today is “Christ is Risen” by Matt Maher. This is one of those days where i had two or three different songs that really impacted me at different times. During the middle part of the day, I was having some quiet time over my lunch and was reading Matthew 27. I was reading the part about Jesus death and crucifixion. as i read all that Christ went through and all the insults and pain he endured, His pain just really hit me hard today. as i read about what the Pharisees did and all that they put this Saviour through, it proved all the more how powerful He is. it showed how great is his love for us.

as soon as i read this, this song came to mind. as i read about all the people being resurrected and was reminded of our own eternal life, i was singing this song.

Christ is risen from the dead
Trampling over death by death
Come awake, come awake!
Come and rise up from the grave!

Christ is risen from the dead
We are one with him again
Come awake, come awake!
Come and rise up from the grave!

What got me is that I wanted my own heart to come awake and live each day as though it were my last. but as i read these lyrics, it shows the power of Christ, Beneath the weight of all our sin
You bow to none but heavens will
No scheme of hell, no scoffer’s crown
No burden great can hold you down
In strength you reign
Forever let your church proclaim

may we the church proclaim all of His goodness and mercy. nothing can hold him down, nothing can deter his plans. there He is in all his goodness, dying for us.

Leave a Reply

