day 7 songs

rachel day 7

honestly, i didn’t listen to the radio much today. i have felt physically awful for some unknown reason. matt and i have been battling some kind of sickness this week, that i know he wrote about in our last 30 day challenge update post. but, feeling sick and tired and just blah, i haven’t really wanted to have it on.

but, i still have lyrics and a song that has been in my head. and i keep thinking about the phrase of “i’m giving my life…”.  so often i get really caught up in how i feel physically-it affects me so negatively when i don’t feel well, when things aren’t going well; i just get discouraged by it so easily. but i keep thinking even when i don’t feel well, when i don’t want to do anything, i still have a part, a role in my relationship with the Lord to respond and submit to Him and to ask Him to guide and direct my daily life.

the lyrics come from the song “starry night” by chris august. and the rest of the chorus says:  i’m giving my life to the only only One who makes the moon reflect the sun // every starry night, that was His design // i’m giving my life to the only Son, who was and is and yet to come // let the praises ring, ’cause He is everything.

Matt day 7

So today has been quite an interesting day. I think today’s message has been about love. When I first got in my car this morning, I had on a CD that was playing a song about love. I heard only a couple of songs this morning on my way to work, the last one that I heard was “How he loves” by David Crowder. I got to work and this song was still playing and I didn’t want to go in until it was done. I really love this song. As time has gone on, more and more bands do this song and the more frequently we hear it in church, but there is something about this song that has meaning to me. It moves me no matter how many times I have heard it.

I think I heard this song for the first time about a year and a half ago (I know, I was so behind the times). It hit me during a time of loneliness and pain and it was one of the first songs that I bought (more on this in a later post). But from the moment I heard it, I have loved it. The rhythm of the song and just an outpouring of emotions that comes in the climax of this song that speaks of we being God’s portion and He is our prize. I love the thought of an ocean of grace and letting myself just sink in it.

You ever have one of those days where a song just plays through your head almost all day. That is what this song has done to me, which isn’t a bad thing at all. It’s fantastic to be reminded of how God loves me, when I feel so unlovable. When all I can see is my sin, God showers me with love and grace. For some reason, he makes me clean and washes away every single drop of sin. How does he do that? Why does he do that? It is so amazing. I don’t get it. But isn’t that His love. It’s unsearchable, unfathomable. It cannot be comprehended just how far, how wide, how deep and how great is His love.

What I love is that when I have a day full of hurt or attacks, a day that Satan constantly torments me, I remember this song. Today I have sung this song and it has given me such peace. I know that I have failed and I detest my sins. I never want to marginalize them, but praise God for His great love. I, like Paul in Romans 7, is someone who wants to do right, yet inevitably does the very thing he doesn’t want to do. So today, when I am low and my body and mind is weak, there is God and his love. Thank God for how He loves and how He loves me, oh how He loves me.

There are multiple versions of this song, but since I heard the Crowder version today, here it is (live version in klove studio with just David Crowder; the song starts at 0:20):

Also, the version by JesusCulture is a personal favorite as well.

Leave a Reply

