Matt’s Day 1 song

so, today was quite the interesting day. from getting a few hours of sleep because of the drip and leak from the neighbors above to driving home in a blizzard, the only way i am here now is because of my Lord. there are a few things today that went on that i want to share with you.

first, yesterday i saw a post from a friends facebook about Joshua that was such a great reminder. it was Joshua 1:9,” 9 Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.” On my way home yesterday, i heard something similar except that it was from deuteronomy 31, verse 6 which says, “6 Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” This went through my head today and also on my way home as i drove through the snow.

driving in snow is not one of my favorite things. i see the dangers it poses and feeling like i don’t have any control over the car at times, yes sounds like trusting is another lesson i need to learn. I was reminded of this as I crept along at 10mph and cars driving too close to each others and sliding around. this reminds me that no matter where i go, God has already gone before me. This also reminds me of a future post that we will do on God’s eternity from the book “knowledge of the holy” by AW Tozar. in the midst of not being in control and not sure i would get home safe if at all, i was reminded of this verse today.

so for my song, i am actually going to cheat and give you two. the first one is the standard Doxology. Why does this go through my head, I don’t know but it seems like it is my go to song because of the line “Praise God from whom all blessings flow.” no matter how great the new Christian songs are, you cannot beat a classic hymn. this reminds me of growing up in church and singing this at our small little church but to think of those poignant words now, Praise God indeed.

The other song, is “You are good” by Bethel Church. As I got home all I could do is praise God. I had just had the worst two hour drive ever and was so thankful to be home. this song is important to me because God is good and no matter what, He will get me through it all. Here are some of the lyrics: “Your goodness knows no bounds
Your goodness never stops
Your mercy follows me
Your kindness fills my life
Your love amazes me…Nothing and noone comes 
Anywhere close to You
The earth and oceans deep 
Only reflect this truth
And in my darkest night
You shine as bright as day
Your love amazes me

With a cry of praise
My heart will proclaim
You are good You are good
And in the sun or rain
My heart celebrates 
You are good You are good”

Here is a link to the song, check it out:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=got6Olg0J-E

Leave a Reply

